Drama Llama, but it isn’t their fault…

Yesterday, my heart sister joined a group on facebook that was taking a localish-to-her bakery to task for a tagline on their website (which, of course, made me interested).  The tagline, which can no longer be found was “So good it makes fat people cry.”

The business is a cottage-bakery, making cakes, cupcakes, pies, and cookies.  So, way to go with alienating potential customers.   It has been suggested they (the owners) were trying to be edgy and funny.  In my opinion, they missed their mark.

It’s okay, though, it’s a free country, right?  Well, yes, until the person who started the facebook page talking about them emailed them and politely said the tagline was offensive and could they take it down. *NOTE: She did not start the facebook page until after she’d tried talking to them and was treated rudely, and then talked about on their Twitter accounts.*   While they were under no obligation to do as they were asked (hey, it’s still a free country and if you want to offend people and possibly decrease sales when people refuse to go to your establishment, you can do so), what they did was reprehensible.

They went on Twitter, under their private accounts (but accounts that were attached to the bakery’s Twitter account) and started slamming the person who called them on their tagline.  They used terms like “fat cunt” and talked about “whiny fat people”.  While they didn’t mention the woman by name in their tweets, anybody who knew what was going on could understand.  At one point, one of the owners complained of whiny fat people who made her migraine so bad her meds weren’t working.

Aw.  Poor thing.

Later, as they started getting fallout from their tweets, they deleted them and put their private accounts to private, complaining that they couldn’t even say what they wanted in their private accounts anymore.

Aw.  Poor things.

Today, on their blog, they have an apology.  First, they called the woman who complained by name.  So anybody who saw the previous comments now know for sure who they were calling a fat cunt yesterday.  Then they excuse their actions by saying the stress of opening a business was getting to them.  And finally, they state “tweets you found offensive have been removed”.  Because, you know, being called a fat cunt isn’t offensive at all.

Here’s a few tips for you, Carrie and David, owners of Crumb:

1) You don’t have a brick and mortar shop, so everything you do is by social media.  If you attach your private Twitter accounts to your business account, and then act in as unprofessional manner as you did, you cannot then whine about how you can’t even say what you want on your private accounts anymore.  By attaching those accounts to the Crumb business account, you have made them an extension of the business account.  Which means, if you are rude and crude to people, they will call you on it, and talk about your business’ rudeness.

2)  For a company who’s not been in business very long, do you really think that insulting at least part of your customer base is a savy business plan?  Especially when you are charging an arm and leg for your product * , and have a history of being rude in person when a customer has a problem with the items they received?

3)  An apology that states “tweets you were offended by” is not an apology.  An apology that uses “too much stress” as a way to  alleviate your responsibility for your actions (the tagline in the first place, what you said on your twitter to discredit her) is not an apology.

4)  If starting a business is that stressful to you that you have to be so rude, you might want to consider folding up your aprons now.  Because I can tell you it ain’t gonna get any less stressful.  Not even if you get Paula Dean famous.  Especially not if you get Paula Dean famous.  (And after this debacle, I doubt you’ll be able to get that famous.)

If you truly mean your apology, you’ll start over and take responsibility for yourselves.  You’ll own your actions and reactions, and stop trying to get out of the predicament you put yourself in.  But that might mean you grow up and act like adults who own a business, instead of schoolyard bullies who think they can get away with calling a fat woman who had a problem with your tagline a “fat cunt”.

Personally, I’m hoping this will be a growth opportunity for you — not for your business.  With all the negative press you’ve garnered, I don’t see how you will be able to make a go of your company now.  I mean personally.

However, I’m not holding my breath.

*Unfortunately, the Yelp review of their business explaining their prices for some cupcakes ($8 per cupcake and a minimum order of 12 cupcakes) seems to be taken down, so I can’t link to it.

17 Responses

  1. I truly hope it *IS* a learning experience for them. And while normally I don’t wish for people to fail in their enterprise, I really do hope it’s at least a wake up call.

  2. Ye gods and little purple fishes! What did these people think starting a business would be like? They took the chill pill way too late.

    I don’t know about anyone else, but I’m not buying from a company that hurls crude insults at anyone who has a concern or complaint.

  3. I think the fact they called the person a “fat cunt” is evidence enough to say that their tagline was not as tongue-in-cheek as they’d like you to believe.

  4. How ironic that their tag line makes me want to hurl. And I third Twistie and 400.

  5. Yeah I think it’s pretty safe to say they’re not going to recover from this one easily. They now have worldwide recognition *waves from Brisbane, Australia* as the company that referred to someone (and it doesn’t matter who really) as a “fat cunt”.

    Besides, if fat people are really the gluttons they’re making us out to be, wouldn’t they want us on their side? We’d be their best damn customers!!

  6. Maybe their target market is fat haters. It’s true; a lot of people who can afford to pay $8 a cupcake for 12 cupcakes are sizest. Maybe it’ll work out for them.

    I hope not, though.

  7. Hmm, I can think of spending close to $50 on something better than cupcakes. Sorry Crumb, this fattie won’t be one of your customers.

  8. Actually, it is $96 for 12 cupcakes, PLUS shipping. And I wouldn’t buy from them under any circumstances, mostly because of the cost, but now I wouldn’t buy from them if they sold cupcakes for 8 CENTS each & threw in free shipping. What total jackasses!

    • $96? That’s more expensive than a bus ticket to NYC, where I can get a cheaper cupcake from The Magnolia Bakery.

  9. People like that just shouldn’t work with the public, ever! When I decided to open my own cafe last year I knew it would be the hardest I’ve worked in my life. Stress? Heck yes! But not once have I ever, ever been rude to a customer or anyone else in my life to be honest. But I also don’t allow that type of behavior in my cafe. I practice respect & honesty. That’s it. It’s so very simple. Now if I could just get my customers to be more body accepting…ha-ha!

  10. And of course comments are now closed on their bullshit “apology” thread. Whatev. it wasn’t really an apology anyway.

    Sizist, sexist, and douchey all in one? No thanks. I agree with lifeonfats: I can take a bus to New York for less and get a cupcake from Crumbs (no relation) or Magnolia, or Amy’s, or Sugar Sweet Sunshine…and the list goes on. Or I could stay here and go to Kickass Cupcakes, or Sweet, or Sugar.

  11. I sincerely, honestly, and truly hope this business fails. Yes, I said it. I wouldn’t order a cupcake from them if it was the most delicious cupcake in all of cupcakedom, and they were sending them out for free. If their goal was to piss off an alienate a whole bunch of potential customers, they’ve done a fantastic job. Dumbasses.

  12. Good gravy, what morons. They start up a food business and have the nerve to deride anyone who might be overweight? And then they get all nasty and insulting and almost consider themselves deprived of freedom of speech, to boot?

    Yeah, they deserve a whole dumptruck of FAIL and a tall stack of STFU pancakes dripping in more Fail!

    They certainly have the right to say whatever they like. Trouble is, for them that is? Everyone else also has the right to decide they are asshats and not have anything further to do with them OR their business.

  13. Oh, and the gutless wonders closed the comments on the blog before I could serve them a slice of “WTF were you thinking.”

    I bake, too. My food makes skinny people cry.

  14. Oh I don’t know, Jerome, if they were sending out cupcakes for free with free shipping, I’d order about ten thousand of them, and give them to a local homeless shelter, if said shelter would print a big sign that said “Cupcakes donated by fat woman. Enjoy!” Or I could hand them out to homeless folk and take pictures of them eating one (with their permission of course) and put the pictures on the web with the caption “Everybody loves Crumb cupcakes!”.

Leave a Reply

