Julie and Julia

Over the weekend, I went to see the movie Julie and Julia.

The movie follows two women, Julia Child and Julie Powell, as they experience similar difficulties in life.  Julie Powell decides to blog about working her way through Julia Child’s french cookbook.  524 recipes in 365 days.  The movie then intertwines the stories of Julia Child (as told through her own memoirs) and Jule Powell.

One thing I really liked about the movie was the way they did a passing nod to the whole size issue, and then dropped it.  In the beginning of the movie, Julie goes to have lunch with “friends”.  It’s the “dreaded Cobb Salad luncheon”.  As Julie is sitting in the restaurant, ignored by friends who are too busy with their own lives and success to have time for her, she takes a bread stick and starts nibbling on it.  One of the friends, on the phone talking upper 6-figure business with her assistant, pulls the bread stick out of Julie’s hand and shakes her head.

In another scene, Julie complains about putting on weight, and her husband looks at her like she’s crazy.

And that is all that is said about dieting or weight for the whole film.

Even when we see her friend Sarah, played by Mary Lynn Rajskub (who is definitely not Hollywood skinny in this film), there are no fat jokes.  The not-skinny friend doesn’t make any self-depreciating comments about her weight or anything.

Truly, for a movie that has food and peoples relationships around food (dinner parties, learning to cook, enjoying life) as a theme, it was surprisingly neutral in it’s portrayal of weight and weight issues.

The plot of the movie itself was awesome.   As a foodie, I loved watching about both Julia Child’s life and how she went into cooking, and the struggles of a modern woman trying to cook all of Julia Child’s recipes.  The scene where Julie cooks lobster is the best, in my opinion, of the whole movie.

I definately give this movie a thumbs up.  It’s engaging (at least to a foodie like me it was), and best of all, no mention of how butter or eggs or anything was bad for a person.

6 Responses

  1. Thanks for the brief review; I can’t WAIT to go watch this one because I’ve always loved Julia Child’s work 😀 She was always a hoot to watch ^.^

  2. Thanks for thumbs-up. I loved Julie Powell’s book, so I’m (of course) afraid the movie will be disappointing.

  3. loved it, loved it loved it loved it. and agree with your commentary.

    there were more nods: julia was taller than her husband. her sister dorothy was taller than she. neither of them really fit in France with the tiny people and tiny furniture. it was “bigger than” more than “fatter than,” but note was made. when the sister married, both julia and her sister then had shorter husbands….it takes a man of a certain security to adore a bigger woman.

    did i say i loved it? :o)

  4. I’m dying to see this movie, so thanks for the review 😀 It makes me all the more interested.

  5. I loved the movie from start to finish.

  6. I saw it and enjoyed it, too. Boy did it make me want boeuf bourguignon! Two or three things:
    1) the deal her friend was discussing with her assistant was for hundreds of millions of dollars (185mil, 190mil) so it would be 9 figure deals 🙂
    2) I was (pleasantly) surprised by the lack of fat hate/fat shaming present in the movie; I recall the trailer made it seem like that would be a larger part of what they considered “funny”
    3) I laughed aloud at Meryl/Julia’s conversation with Stanley/Paul where he asks, “what is it that you really like to do?”
    Her response, “eat!” And then some mutual chuckling at her being really good at it (eating).
    And I sighed a little discontented sigh because I, a seriously fat woman, would never get a mainstream audience to laugh with delight if I said such a thing. And that makes me sad.

Leave a Reply

