Busy week is not good for posting

It’s the week in between two trips, and it’s busy.  Last week was a nice hotel weekend, which only meant I had to get packed and out of the house.   This coming weekend is an SCA event, which means a LOT more planning and preparation.  I have to buy food so we can cook a couple of dinners at the event, but then also make stuff we can bring along that will be both quick to eat, and full of protein, carbs, and calories.  Oh yeah, and they have to be easily stored for three days in a cooler with ice.

Up til that last requirement, I could do just about anything.  But since I need to think about cooler with ice, it gets a bit harder.  So, things scheduled to be made this week (and are being made) are things like cinnamon rolls for breakfast and quick snacks.  Hard boiled eggs I can put, shelled, into a bag in the cooler when we need a protein pick-me-up.  I’m making hummus (a chick pea and tahini spread or dipping sauce) to go with veggies and flat bread.  Oh yeah, and I need to make a trail mix that all my friends affectionately call “crack”.  Because, it’s just so good when you need something fast, portable, and that has a good mix of carbs, protein, and fat.

In between all the getting ready for the event craziness that happens, there’s also the new Tai Chi class, as well as the usual every day stuff that needs to get done.  It would also be a good thing for me to make a veil too, if I can find the time before the weekend.  (I burnt my head, in the male pattern balding area this past weekend at the Renaissance Festival, and I really don’t want a sunburn on a sunburn.)

Tai Chi is going well, even for as few classes as I’ve had.  It’s helping my balence and my stability, especially on my left leg (the one that had the operation).  The only issue I had at all was today, when we were trying to find a Gi (Gee?) that fit me.  The sizes are not “normal” sizes, and so they started me out trying on a size 6.  It didn’t fit around the waist, not even coming close to closing, much less having the double breasted look it’s supposed to have.  So we tried the size 7.  Again, no dice.  Finally, we tried the size 8, the largest size they had.  It at least closes in the front, although the pants don’t fit me.

As I was trying the clothes on, the Sensei said something about how I shouldn’t become discouraged, as after a little bit of time, I’ll lose weight and the Gi will fit much better.  I looked at him and told him I doubted it, but that was okay, I have sewing skills and can get a pattern and make myself a Gi if I need to.  He insisted that regular exercise would help me tone up and lose weight.

I didn’t want to get into it.  I just didn’t want to deal with discussing my history of exercise and how it never helped me lose any significant amount.  The discussion was starting to eat into my private class time, and I’m there to do Tai Chi, NOT to argue fat acceptance or how my body works.  So I finally told him that I was there for the mobility, flexibility, and strength benefits, not the possibility of weight loss.  If I lost weight by exercising the three days in class, kewl.  But if I didn’t, it was no skin off my nose, as I wanted the mobility, strength, and flexibility benefits of the exercise.

He started to say something else, then changed his mind.  He let the issue of weight drop, and respected the goals I set for myself.  I’m really glad he didn’t push it, as I would have had to ask for my money back then, and would have found a different dojo to learn Tai Chi.

I don’t know if there’ll be another post this week or not.  If not, I’ll see you all next week, and maybe have some pictures of what I do when I pretend to be from another century.  Or, knowing how I forget to take pictures, maybe not!

6 Responses

  1. So I finally told him that I was there for the mobility, flexibility, and strength benefits, not the possibility of weight loss. If I lost weight by exercising the three days in class, kewl. But if I didn’t, it was no skin off my nose, as I wanted the mobility, strength, and flexibility benefits of the exercise.

    Yes. This. My body weight will be what it will be.

  2. Try Cariadoc’s Icelandic Chicken recipe, altered by using boneless skinless chicken thighs. You get protein and carbs together, documentable accuracy of flavour, and something with the convenience of a sausage roll that you can pull out of the ice chest and eat.

    • Oy! I’ve not looked into Cariadoc’s stuff in years. I used to have his site bookmarked, but that was at least one computer ago…

      *Off to get to Cariadoc’s site again, and find yummy, period, and good for you foods to make for Baron’s War*

  3. So I finally told him that I was there for the mobility, flexibility, and strength benefits, not the possibility of weight loss. If I lost weight by exercising the three days in class, kewl. But if I didn’t, it was no skin off my nose, as I wanted the mobility, strength, and flexibility benefits of the exercise.

    Yes. This. My body weight will be what it will be.
    OH! You’re my new favorite blogger fyi

  4. I’m sure the Sensei is used to women (and men, too) telling him at least part of their reason for being there is weight loss…and he probably believes in it, too. OTOH, I’m glad he let the matter drop. It’s important that students in courses like this be allowed to set their own goals so that they can find a genuine sense of accomplishment.

    Besides, simply by being there and not worried about your weight, you’re demonstrating FA 101 to everyone in the dojo. I think that’s pretty terrific. Somebody may well learn something simply by seeing you there week after week.

    Have fun storming the castle…or whatever your SCA event happens to be. I spent a few years in the SCA myself, and know how fun these things can be.

    • It’s Baron’s War in the Outlands. We’re having a Pirate theme this year.

      And since my Household is ship based, it’s kind of right up our alley. 🙂 AAAARGH!

Leave a Reply

