The more I read, the more I realize

Okay, I should know this, right?  But every so often it hits me again.

The “obesity epidemic” is not, and never has been, about health.  It is, and has always been, about a lot of other things (social standing, appearance, bodies being/not being public property, the diet industry), but it has never been about health.

If it was about health, then why are so many people resistant to the truth when it slaps them in the face?  Why do so many news outlets only print the “OMG FAT KILLZ!” headlines and leave the “well, you know, if you are fat, you really have a better chance to survive heart attacks and strokes, and hey, you may live longer overall” stories alone?  Why did every major and minor news outlet pick up the “The Fatties are causing global warming, the global economic failure, and starvation in third world countries” story when there was no evidence (just some mental masturbation done by statisticians)?

I keep realizing this, and I keep forgetting.  Or maybe I just realize it at a deeper level.

It’s not about health.  It’s never been about health.  It’s been about money (the diet industry wanting more and more of your and my money).  It’s been about power (those who are “thin and beautiful” get better paying jobs, and supposedly more power).  It’s been about people in general telling other people what they can and can’t do with their own bodies (which also leads back to power — if somebody tells you what to do, and you do it, you’ve given them power over your life and actions).

The thing that gets to me is, if the common knowledge that obesity kills is true, then why are people so upset about it?  I mean, if I’m going to die by the time I’m 50, that means less time people will have to look at me and have to deal with me being fat at them.   Ultimately, I’ll use less resources for the so-called health crisis because that’s 29 years less of having regular doctor visits and emergency room visits for breaking something or emergency appendicitis or whatever.

Oh, wait, there I go using logic again.

6 Responses

  1. […] Original post by welshwmn3 […]

  2. Oh shoot, you found the rip in the space-time continuum! Now the universe will end! I wish I could shout it from the rooftops, but i don’t even know where to start. Some day they will look back on this idiocy and make as much fun of us and our fear of fat as they make of the crazy early american religious groups that died out because they had no children because they refused to have sex.

  3. You are SO right. IT IS NOT ABOUT HEALTH. IT NEVER HAS BEEN.

    I had this point *rammed* home to me earlier today in a conversation (that quickly turned into a shouting match) with my aunt that started out “Being fat is bad for your health”, but once I got out the actual science that it isn’t went very very quickly in the direction of “BUT YOU LOOK AWFUL, THAT’S A FACT”. (Just like if I’d lived a few hundred years ago my body wouldn’t been perfect and hers would have been horrific and unnatural, and that would have been a fact? Like that, is it?)

    And the joyous irony of it is that *she* is 8st at 5’3″ and all she eats is processed food and takeaways; she walks nowhere and does no exercise; she had to stop working because she catches every bug going and a sinus infection turns into pneunmonia and lays her out for an entire winter. I walk EVERYWHERE and walk in a job that makes me run around and lift things 8 hours a day, I eat fruit and veg like there’s a famine coming, and I am ill for maybe 2 days a year. But SOMEHOW the fact that I am thin make me unhealthy. HOW? WHERE IS THE UNHEALTH? WHAT?

    You just cannot get through. The hypocrisy and unwillingness to listen to reason is too great. And it isn’t about our health anyway. They just don’t like the way we look.

  4. *second “walk” = “work”

  5. And “thin” = “not thin”.

    *sigh* Why am I let at the internet?

  6. I’m actually convinced that a LOT of what makes us dissatisfied with our bodies, our behavior or any material part of our lives is the fact that we are being continuously shaped to become consumers of products by the media we are exposed to. You have to create a need in your customers – you have to make them think that your product or service will improve their life in some way, and the best way to do that is to make people think that their life is somehow deficient without your product, and the only way to bring it up to standard is to buy.

    I like to think of the crude way daytime order-by-phone commercials do it – they show an unhappy person struggling exaggeratedly with using the “old method” in black and white. They’re trying to use a blanket, or cut things up with a knife, or put things in a closet, and the way it’s framed tries to make this everyday activity look terrible and difficult and boring. Sometimes they even end this section with a red X through it. Then they show a smiling person in color using their product with ease and success.

    I love those daytime commercials because they illustrate a point that causes so much contention in a market economy – to get people to buy things they don’t strictly need, you have to make them dissatisfied with what they have. It may not always be directly related to buying or selling products, but it is a formula that seems to be present everywhere I look.

Leave a Reply

