Busy, busy, busy

This weekend has been extremely busy.  The whole week was, actually.

First, I made 5 batches of cookies, the recipe of which supposedly came from the 16th century, for a themed party at a local business on Thursday night.  That took up most of my week there.  Then, of course, there was going to the party Thursday night. 

Friday night was a birthday party for Conall’s Aunt. 

And then Saturday I started making hamburgers and french fries for dessert for a party I threw today.  Yes, I said dessert.

Bakerella made a post detailing how to do it a week ago (including giving a .pdf for the box, fry bag, and liner patterns).  Since the party today was going to be a cook out, I decided I had to do it.

Of course, me being me, I couldn’t do it with box mixes, so I made my family recipe pound cake as the cupcake buns, and then found a really good recipe for brownies here, and so made that for the meat filling.  I also decided to thinly slice some strawberries and use them as “tomatoes”.  The “fries” were made from a family recipe short bread cookie.  The only thing I used that was store bought was vanilla icing.  I’ve not really made icing yet, so didn’t want to push my luck too much.  After all, the brownies were the first time I ever made brownies from scratch.

Do you want fries with that?

Do you want fries with that?

 

This is how it ended up.  I think it turned out well, what do you think?

 

 

 

 

 

One more view, showing the catsup

One more view, showing the catsup

11 Responses

  1. Hah! This is awesome!

    While I was visiting my parents I watched an episode of Dinner: Impossible on the Food Network where his challenge was to make a meal for some magician’s conference or something and each thing in the meal had to look like something other than what it was. SO… he had “Cake and ice cream” which was meatloaf with mashed potatoes, “Hot Dogs” which were ice cream and sponge cake, a soup that tasted like pizza and Caesar salad, and “Nachos” made with sweetened fried flour tortillas, chocolate “meat,” and various dessert sauces. It was WILD.

  2. if you can make all that, you can definitely make frosting! it is really the easiest part of the dessert. i use a recipe that calls for only cream cheese (8oz), powdered sugar (4 cups), and butter (1/4) and it works like a charm. for chocolate, add 1/2 cup coco powder.

    cool photos and, as always, thanks for blogging! it inspires me to try something equally daring and fun.

  3. very cute! i want to try it

  4. I have no great curiosity re: making french fries, but 16th century cookies are another thing. Will we be seeing a recipe soon, or is it a copyright issue? I saw a medieval salad recipe once that kind of blew my mind–huge handfuls of herbs all thrown together. What’s this like?

    • I’ll give the recipe on Saturday for my Saturday fluff piece. 🙂

      The original recipe is from 1570-ish, and so never even saw a copywrite law. The redaction was done in the early 1900’s, and the book is out of print now (though you can still get used copies), and so is in public domain too.

      The cookies are really good. The recipe I have comes from the 1900’s redaction, so it uses some modern things (like almond extract, which my research to date hasn’t seen any recipes from pre-1600 using extracts). It also uses some things not normally associated with modern cooking (arrowroot powder).

      The almond extract gives it a nice almondy flavor, and the arrowroot powder gives it a lighter texture than you’d expect from a thick doughed cookie.

      It’s really pretty good.

  5. Oh. My. God. This is beyond cute! I’m gonna have to make these for the next family barbecue! Thanks for the idea and great job!

  6. Icing is really super easy – all you need is butter and powdered sugar. And perhaps a tablespoon of milk, vanilla, cocoa powder, or other flavoring if you’re feeling fancy. I don’t even use a recipe anymore – just microwave some butter and add powdered sugar. Be not afraid of the buttercream! You don’t actually have to use a mixer if you’re willing to wait for the result to cool off enough to spread. Just melt the butter and everything mixes in really easily.

  7. Cute project!

    Making your own buttercream actually isn’t that difficult to do. I was kind of amazed when I tried it how well it turned out. If you’re interested in a no-fail recipe for it, I’d be happy to pass it along.

  8. To everybody who said how easy buttercream is to make: You’ve inspired me to try it myself next time I make a cake that needs to be frosted. Whenever that is, I’ll be sure to post the results!

  9. I think they turned out very cute. Isn’t it remarkable how food is always more fun when it’s masquerading as other food? I have that recipe book-marked as well, I’m just waiting for an occasion to make it.
    I agree, btw, buttercream is insanely easy. I prefer cream cheese frosting, though, because it’s lighter and has a little tang to it. Here’s my favorite recipe:
    *8 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
    *3/4 cup confectioner’s sugar
    *1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract or 2 inches vanilla bean
    *Lemon/orange zest, finely grated or lemon/orange oil (optional)
    Cream the cream cheese, sifting in the sugar until light and fluffy. Add vanilla extract/scraped out seeds of vanilla bean and citrus if using it, stir until well combined. Voilà!

Leave a Reply

