Time Tested Beauty Tips

I’m not one to pass on beauty tips, but I got this in email, checked the veracity of it (and found the real author) and decided to pass this on.  I hope you all enjoy!

 

Time Tested Beauty Tips

 

For attractive lips, speak words of kindness.

 

For lovely eyes, seek out the good in people.

For a slim figure, share your food with the hungry.

For beautiful hair, let a child run his or her fingers through it once a day.

For poise, walk with the knowledge you’ll never walk alone.

People, even more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed, and redeemed; Never throw out anybody.

Remember, If you ever need a helping hand, you’ll find one at the end of your arm.

As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself, the other for helping others.

The beauty of a woman is not in the clothes she wears, the figure that she carries, or the way she combs her hair. The beauty of a woman must be seen from in her eyes, because that is the doorway to her heart, the place where love resides.

The beauty of a woman is not in a facial mole, but true beauty in a woman is reflected in her soul. It is the caring that she lovingly gives, the passion that she shows, and the beauty of a woman with passing years only grows!

Sam Levenson

5 Responses

  1. I could certainly do without the tip about having a slim figure being all about ‘sharing your food’, as if not having a slim figure automatically makes one a selfish glutton, but I suppose it is to be expected from someone like Audrey Hepburn, both because of her era, the world in which she lived, & the fact that she was always a very skinny woman & I am sure would have been thin whatever she ate. She also died quite young, so being very thin didn’t win her any lotteries. However, some of the things are very nice.

    • The version I got in email had that part cut out. It was attributed to Audrey Hepburn, but my research indicated it wasn’t created by Audrey Hepburn.

      When I found the original version, for “journalistic integrity” (put in quotes because I am not a journalist) I had to include that line.

      I don’t agree that sharing your food with somebody who’s hungry will make you thin. And I understand how it could be seen as part of the “Fat people are selfish gluttons” stereotype, but I think there’s more to it than that.

      If you look at the era it was written in (50’s through the 70’s) and the rest of the poem, it seems to me to be a piece against the shallowness that was happening even then. That what creates true beauty isn’t how much product you have in your hair, the make up you put on your face, or the amount you spend on your clothes, but rather, what you do with your life, how you connect with people, whether you help others or not.

      Yeah, I could have done without the line about being thin, too. But I think the overall message is inspirational. At least, it is to me. YMMV, of course. 🙂

  2. Of course! Fatties are directly responsible for making hungry people starve. Other people, since they obviously eat less, are not. Unless maybe they are the CEO of Tyson or Mon Santo or something.

    Also, if you need a helping hand beyond the two you presumably have, you just suck.

    Sorry, I can’t see uplifting quotations without picking at all the holes.

    • No one inspirational/motivational peice is going to do it for everybody. 🙂

      We are all different, and what touches me, may not touch you (obviously). I still think the overall sentiment is good. You seem to not.

      Diversity is what makes for an interesting world and interesting conversations! 🙂

  3. Sorry, but this is exactly the sort of patronizing, sentimental, greeting card claptrap that makes me want to barf.

    All it does is replace the demand that women be effortlessly conventional beautiful with another, equally impossible and tyrannical standard — that women be saintly paragons of moral perfection.

    And what impossible standard are men expected to meet? Hmmm . . . the author of this piece doesn’t say — I wonder why that is?

    Sorry to be so snarky in my first comment here. In general, I really enjoy your blog. I learn a lot from it!

Leave a Reply

