Reading list

Over the last month or so, I’ve not had as much access to computers and the internet as I normally do.  The laptop had a massive OS crash, and the computer was an expensive doorstop for a while.

Now it’s fixed, and I can access the internet any time of the day or night that I want to.  Yay!

While I was only half-connected (sharing the husband’s computer was an interesting experience), I found lots of other things to do with all this new found time.  I finally read all the books that were on my reading list, including a new one only recently released in the US called The Warded Man by Peter V. Bret.  If you like fantasy, this is a book I recommend! 

I found another book this week from a favorite author.  The Mystery of Grace by Charles De Lint.  I’m only a few pages into it, but it promises to be as good as all of his other books.  If you like fantasy, and modern day fairy tales, I definitely recommend him as an author.

The fact is, I do a lot of reading in a day.  When I have full access to the computer, I read a ton of blogs.  I read about my friends lives as they choose to write about it every day.  I read about strangers lives, and fat acceptance/activist issues, as well as about art I’m interested in, dog training tips, favorite authors blogs, and a lot of other things.

One of the best things that happened while being without my own computer was finding a resource with old books (from 1888 to 1933 publication dates) about historical lace which had been scanned onto the net and is hosted by the University of Arizona.  More reading on the internet!  Yay!

But I realized, during my partial exile from all things internet, how much I miss turning a page.  How much I miss sitting on a couch, covered in a warm blankie (because the basement is chilly, no matter what the temperature is set for in the house), and just reading for the pure enjoyment of reading.

Even as a child and teenager I was a bookworm.  So much so that one punishment my parents employed was to take away all my non-essential (read school) reading.  It’s how I learned to read upside down and backwards (sitting across the table from mom as she was reading the newspaper or a magazine, I could get about a half a page read by the time she turned the page, it wasn’t the best method, but it kept me from going crazy with boredom). 

As an adult (before the advent of the internet and before I got with modern times and got a 486 computer with a 14.4k modem) reading was still my favorite pastime.  I’ve always had craft projects around, but books have always been my one true love.  I’d fit in my craft projects around my reading time.

In the past month, I’ve rediscovered how much I love reading a book.  Whether it’s a non-fiction book on a topic I’m interested in (and I’ve read old text books on topics I was interested in, just to read them), or reading a cook book just to see if there were any recipes I might want to try out (have a new cookie cook book I need to read), or just for fun, reading has always been something I love.

I went for 5 years without a TV as an adult.  It wasn’t a loss because I could listen to records and tapes and read books.

Now I’ve got full connectivity with the internet again.  And the Charles De Lint book I picked up two days ago sits forlornly on my table, with only 20 pages read. 

If you are the type of person who loves reading, do you find that the reading on the internet interferes with your time to read real (IE, paper) books?  If so, how do you deal with a growing reading list on both the internet (so many blogs, so little time) and off?

It’s still snowing, and it’s a lazy Saturday.  I have a couple loads of laundry to do, but I think once I hit send on this post, I’m going to curl up, under the blankie, with Charles De Lint and have some nice me time.

4 Responses

  1. 1) I love reading
    2) I work in an independent bookstore
    3) I have a one year old

    What little reading I do – and the bosses at the bookstore recommend bringing books home to read – is mostly email and blogs these days, or, um, speedreading through books at work when the bosses aren’t there, ahem, and the 10 minutes i have when I get in bed with the kiddo as we cosleep.

    How do I cope with blog reading? Bloglines. It takes literally weeks to read books I would normally finish in a day or two these days…

  2. I do love to read, always did. Like you, loosing library privileges was a huge punishment. And yes, online time has cut into my page turning. But I read in bed, something I never used to do; if I am not sleeping anyhow I may as well spend the time in a book.

  3. I read hardly any books these days, not like I used to, maybe one a fortnight. I read blogs and emails and tumblrs and Livejournal etc.

  4. I find I can manage one conflicting hobby, but two cuts into my reading time. So: I’m a mad-keen knitter at the moment, and knit while I read the internet or watch TV, then curl up with a book before bed and when I wake up. But when I was writing and watching lots of Buffy, my reading dropped…

    I’m a bit obsessed with making the most of spare moments – I always have a book or a sock to knit with me for queues and busstops. It means I have the time to stare at the ceiling when I want to.

Leave a Reply

