Of Art Shows and Ovens

Of Art Shows:
Today, I was flipping through the local newspaper (after getting done reading the comics, of course) and found a small section I have never seen before:  Auditions/Calls for Entries.  As I was reading it, I came across one call for entries into an art show.  The main show will be held in April, with the submitted art being displayed in local galleries and coffee houses in the city and surrounding area from the middle of March until the actual show.   I’m going to be in it!

This art show is called “Finding Our Voices” and it’s to call awareness to Sexual Abuse Awareness Month (which is April).  Now all I have to do is, well, make some art.  I have a performance piece I can do (some poetry), and I’ve got an idea for a polymer clay sculpture.   Then there’s also jewelry.  And I only have a week and a half to figure out what I’m doing, how much I’m doing, and make the piece (if I do the polymer clay sculpture).

Yes, I am a survivor of childhood sexual, physical and emotional abuse.  It’s something I’ve not written out on this blog, as my focus here is of fat acceptance and HAES, but sometimes it does creep into what I write (as some people have pointed out in replies to some of my postings).  My feelings of low self esteem come as much from years of being told my body isn’t good enough (not skinny enough, being starved, etc) as it does from my being severely abused in many ways.  When I talk about knowing how hard it is to overcome brainwashing, it’s because I’ve spent a good portion of my adult life fighting the brainwashing I received as a child. 

I’m looking forward to participating in this.  It’s been far to long since I’ve spoken my truth as a survivor.

Of Ovens:
The new oven was delivered!  I thought I’d hate the oven, it has so many bells and whistles (I’m usually a keep it simple kind of person).  I’ve not made anything in the oven yet (that’ll be later when I make a peach pie with ripe peaches from summer frozen at the peak of their ripeness), but I have cooked on the stove.

I really thought I’d hate it.  I mean, for real here.  I’m a creature of habit, and when I had to learn how to cook on an electric stove (from the gas stove I used to cook on when I was a child and teen ager), I absolutely hated it.  I’ve always hated electric stoves.  They’ve been too slow to heat, too slow to cool.  Temperature control was iffy since it took a while for the coils to cool down.  I never knew exactly what the heat was.  On a gas stove, the controls were instantaneous.  I could look at the fire and see how hot it was.

The flat top stove is not quite as responsive as gas, but it’s much better than a conventional stove.  It heats up quickly, taking maybe 30 seconds to go from cold to the hottest setting, and decreasing temperature is quicker as well.  And while I still can’t really see how hot it is from the size of the flame, it heats and cools fast enough that if I’ve misjudged it won’t take but a second or two to heat or cool more.

The oven itself, besides being a convection oven, has a few features I think I’m going to adore.  Of course, it’s self-cleaning.  That was MiL’s deal breaker on all the ovens.  If it didn’t have a self-cleaning function, she wasn’t going to buy it.  Besides the self-cleaning function, it has a proofing function for bread, a warming function that will keep hot food warm for three hours, a “Sabbath” function (the automatic timer is programmable for over 24 hours so that if you have a religious prohibition against working on the Sabbath, you can get everything ready the night before and it’ll do the work itself the next day). 

The convection oven will do automatic conversions from the normal recipe to the convection (which will be good for me at first).  It also has just a regular bake, so if I don’t want the convection for whatever reason, I can just put the roast in the oven at normal tempurature and for the normal amount of time.

I’m going to try the convection oven part for the pie, and see how it works. 

I think this can be the beginning of a very good relationship with the new oven.  I’m very hopeful, but then again, I know I’m in the honeymoon stage right now. 🙂

8 Responses

  1. i ADORED my flat top stove. i miss it terribly. it was one of the things he and i had disagreed on mightily when we bought it…then he grudgingly agreed it was a good thing. 🙂

    the only thing i didnt like was having to get rid of the cast iron because you arent supposed to use cast iron on the ceramic top because of risk of scretching/cracking. then again, i couldnt *lift* the cast iron any longer, so… *shrugs*

    yay for you!

    • The jury is out so far: the pie didn’t work so well, but that just means I have to fine tune things.

      The meat is going along swimmingly, so that’s a good thing.

      And we don’t have cast iron in this house, much as I’d like them. I guess it’s a good thing though, as I’d not be able to use it anymore.

  2. Is it a juried show? Good for you for entering! Nothing is more exciting than a new appliance (at for awhile!). Have fun with it!

    • No, it’s not juried. But it’s still the first show in a while I’ve entered (I’ve entered the art show at some sci-fi conventions in the past).

      And the new oven will definately have a learning curve. Hopefully, I’m up to the challenge! 😀

  3. Yay on the art! I’m so glad you reminded me of April’s focus.

    I love gas stoves. They really are the best. Haven’t experienced flat tops, but I’m open to new experiences. Heh.

    Mmmm. Peach pie. *drool*

    🙂

    • The thing is, I never knew what April’s focus is. I do now though.

      Gas stoves are my fav. I’ve told Conall that when we finally have our own house built (you know, after winning the lottery) we WILL be having a gas stove and oven. He is a little resistant because he thinks I’ll burn down the house, but I have a perfect record there.

      Umm, the record is that I’ve never burned down a house yet. Just in case you were wondering. 😉

  4. Congratulations on being part of the artshow! Good luck creating your pieces this week!

    • Thanks!

      And I’ll take all the luck I can get. It’s easy to say “Yeah, I can whip something together in a week” and a lot harder when faced with beads and clay and pencils and paper.

      But I excell under pressure, so we’ll see what happens! 🙂

Leave a Reply

