A rare “lazy” day

Today I have a rare, lazy day.  And by lazy, I mean I don’t have appointments I must keep or things I must do.  I don’t even have to go to the grocery store (yet, there’s always a possibility I’ll find out I need to stop at the grocery store for one thing).  As I was making a list on how to fill up my rare lazy day, it suddenly occurred to me:

What’s so wrong with being lazy?

One of the things I’m always being associated with (as a fat person) is being lazy.  People look at my size and make snap judgements about how much time sofa time my butt has.   If they are acquaintances and it comes up how busy I usually am, I get a range of reactions from looks of disbelief to (in one case) being called a liar.  Because, you know I can’t be busy so much and stay as fat as I am.

Even if I was as lazy as people think I am due to my size, I have to wonder, what’s so wrong with being lazy?  Why is it such a hideous thing, so hideous that fat and lazy are synonymous as being “really bad evil things”.  I mean, I think the epitaph “lazy” is worse than “murderer”.

I understand sloth is considered one of the seven deadly sins (as is gluttony).  Of the seven (lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy and pride), only two is reviled to the point where humans won’t forgive it.  We seem to be quick to forgive lust, greed, wrath, envy and pride, but gluttony and sloth is just right out. 

It seems like something is wrong here.  In the grand scheme of things, being fat and lazy is pretty inoccuous.  Being greedy leads to things like, well, like the American stock market crashing (yes, big bank executives, Fannie Mae and Freddie Mack executives, I’m talkin’ about you).   How many times have we heard about people who’ve gotten in trouble because of lust (can you say “impeachment” of a certain president over 8 years ago)?  Wrath certainly can lead to problems (murder, abuse, other crimes), and envy can also lead to crimes (robbery, theft, which can lead to murder if the homeowners happen to be home, if the victim struggles). 

Even pride (which isn’t as major as the other deadly sins I’ve listed) is let off easily.

But the two deadly sins with the least impact on the community, on society as a whole, those are the ones society as a whole reviles the most.

I know a case can be made (especially historically speaking) for the lazy one taking up community resources and not contributing to the community (if everybody is helping to build a house but one person, it does make the load a little bit heavier for all those who are helping), but still.  To be reviled so much for being lazy?

I think our priorities are a little backwards here.

So, as I go about filling up my “lazy” day with stuff (mostly art stuff I’ve not had the chance to really do in a while, stuff for me, not stuff for anybody else), I’m going to continue to think about my views on why being lazy is so bad.  Because I’m starting to think that lazy people have gotten as much of a bad rap as fat people have.  I mean, after all, they are associated with fat people all the time. 

Hmmm, so, is being normal weight and lazy better than being fat and lazy?

 

Edit to add:  I signed onto my personal blog at Live Journal to see a blog prompt: 

Which of the seven deadly sins—sloth, greed, lust, gluttony, anger, envy, and pride—are you most likely to commit?

Just thought it was an interesting coincidence after yesterday’s post here.

6 Responses

  1. I’ve been accused of being lazy because I usually look for the quickest, easiest way to get something done while still doing a quality job of it. For me, that’s not laziness, it’s efficiency. If I can do a good job and get it done quickly, I either have time to do more work (if I feel like it) or I have added leisure time in which to do the things I want, like reading or sewing or crafting, all of which are relaxing to me. I don’t beat myself up for wanting (and taking) a lazy day, everyone needs time to recharge, and lazy days help with that. I’m not risking burn-out and emotional instability just to meet someone’s expectations of how busy I’m supposed to be or how hard I’m supposed to be working (been there done that, not doing it anymore).

  2. Vesta: Huh?! That’s what engineers DO FOR A LIVING! Look for the easiest way to do something!!

    As for the not risking emotional instability to meet others’ expectations… being in a very accelerated high school math and science program, this is one thing I have learned. The cap-off for satisfactory grades is 80. I am happy getting an 80 if it means I have time to enjoy my high school life, unlike a good friend of mine who spends all of her waking hours working… She needs more lazy days.

    And if they call me lazy for that, for being totally good with 80s and low 90s (which are spectacular for most kids in my school anyway) and actually giving myself free time to get out and enjoy myself and have other hobbies (some of them help me in school, but that’s unrelated because I ENJOY THEM and they are extracurricular… why can’t I get credit for personal study?!), so be it. There’s nothing wrong with being lazy.

    Oh noes, teh lazy! I’d say being lazy is better than being a greedy bastard.

    At “is being skinny and lazy better than being fat and lazy?,” I lol’d. Thanks, blogger whose blog I do not regularly read (found you through the FA blogroll). You just lifted my spirits.

  3. I would say out of the “seven deadly sins” people single out sloth and gluttony because they feel they are the ones with the most visible symptoms. You cant’ really just *look* at someone and say, ‘Wow, there is a really lustful person,’ or ‘Wow, there is a really greedy person.’

    But of course EVERYONE in today’s society knows (insert sarcasm here) that the only reason people are fat is by eating too much and sitting around being lazy, so it’s a dead giveaway! Your sinful nature is there in your chubby form for all the world to see and judge!” (/sarcasm)

  4. I’ve never quite understood this one either. I think there’s a lot of classism involved here too – usually the first accusation I hear against poor people is that they’re ZOMGZ LAZY otherwise they wouldn’t be so poor and society wouldn’t have to take care of them! The people who claim they *can’t* work and even have a doctor to back this up, the harried overworked single moms, and the people who work two jobs for minimum wage and still can’t pay the bills, are obviously liars. Yet the executives who get paid $500,000 a year to sit in a cushy office are seen as deserving, hardworking citizens. I don’t get it.

    Personally, I’ve always thought being a workaholic just for the sake of staying busy, while ignoring one’s friends and family (and health and sanity), is the bigger “sin”.

  5. Hmmm. You know, I never get a chance to be lazy for long, color me envious. And I am constantly identified with being “wrathful”….but you know, generally, I am good with that! Since I don’t care what “they” say is a deadly sin. My “deadly” list includes things like apathy, hatred, intolerance, and snobbery! Look at that–gluttony and sloth not even making MY cut!

  6. I think vesta44 pretty much nailed it. But I’d also like to add what I said to my best friend when he started beating himself up for being lazy.

    “Lazy is just a word people use to judge you when your priorities (for using your time) are different from their priorities.”

    Because, you know, this friend would take 1 or 2 hours and carefully sketch out all the tributaries of a certain river, or make elaborate charts analyzing his success at meeting certain goals, etc. And this was hard work! But, it wasn’t what he “should be doing”, so he was “lazy”. Hmm…

Leave a Reply

