Miss America, 2009

After a long day Saturday (up at 6:15am, finally to bed at midnight or so), I had planned to sleep in on Sunday.  I managed to do just that, until the power went off.  I use a CPAP to sleep at night (altitude induced sleep apnea), and when the CPAP went off with the power, I couldn’t breath.

After finding out that the electric company did indeed know about the problem and were working on it, I sat with my mother-in-law talking about stuff, until the power came back on.  At that point I started reading a book and the MiL started watching TV.  She turned it onto whatever station had run the Miss America contest and was rerunning it this morning.

I have a few things to say about it:

One, for the time I was reading the book and MiLwas watching the rerun, there were no diet commercials.  I was impressed.  She was watching the show for a good 45 minutes before I decided to check email.  That’s pretty good to not see one diet commercial in a contest designed to pick the one person out of 50 that would be held as the epitome of beauty for all women in the country.

I was also impressed by the fact that none of the women I saw (and we came in right before the swimsuit elimination) were so skinny that one could count their ribs.  All the women had curves, some had more than others. 

However, on the subject of the swimsuit elimination, whoever the host was said the swimsuit elimination was about health (and a couple other things).  I’m sorry, with the bikinis the women were wearing and the amount of skin they were showing, that had nothing to do with health.  Not that I’m a prude, I don’t mind if a woman wants to show skin, she has the right to do so.  But to equate “thin and in a bathing suit” with health?  Yeah, made me laugh, and then argue with the TV.  

Because we all know how thin does not necessarily equal healthy, just like fat does not necessarily equal unhealthy.

The final thing I noticed was that most of the women looked the same.  Same facial shape.  Same hair style.  Same body shape.  Same-ish height.  There was very little distinguishing one woman from another.  The one woman who’s face was different (not un-pretty, just different from the rest) was eliminated after the swimsuit competition.  I think that is a sad commentary on our society.  Out of 50 different states, as well as DC, that the ones who made it into the top 12 all looked alike.

I gave up attempting to read my book and halfheartedly watching during the talent competition.  So I still don’t know who won.   And really, if somebody told me her name and the state she came from, I wouldn’t be able to tell you anything at all about her.  However, if you described her dress for the evening gown competition, I might remember.  Hey, what can I say, I love to see beautiful clothing, and some of those gowns were exquisite!

2 Responses

  1. The girl who won was wearing that lacy, white, long-sleeved evening gown that I didn’t care for at all.

    My favorite was Miss Hawaii in the talent competition – she did a Tahitian dance. Of course she was cut right after that. I really don’t know how the judges make their determinations. it seems so arbitrary.

  2. See, as much as I LOVE lace, I hated that dress. And for me, that was the only thing the distinguished her from the other contestants I saw. That horrid lace dress. 🙂

    I sort of watched til the end of Miss Hawaii’s dance. I loved her dance, but then I know people in the belly dance community, both in the SCA and out of it, so I can appreciate the effort involve as well as the beauty of what she was doing.

Leave a Reply

