Saturday Fluff — Not so Fluffy

This week has been hellacious for me.  Too many appointments, not enough time to breath, it felt like.

The Physical Therapist (whom I adore, by the way, he took such good care of me after my knee surgery) has refused to let me out of the arm sling.  He gives two reasons:  1) my arm is still hurting enough that I need it, and 2) it’ll help keep my mother-in-law from trying to ‘use’ me too hard.  Now, it’s not like my mother-in-law is a bad person, but we did move here to help her.  She’s gotten very used to me doing things for her, and doesn’t think about how her getting me to move this heavy object or cut that other thing might hurt an arm that’s already hurting.  The PT thinks that keeping my arm in a sling will help her to not ask for something unless it’s really important.

The PT also said he thinks I did some minor nerve damage to my arm too.  Minor as in definitely treatable, but still there. 

The only thing I have to say about all this is that I need to be out of the sling the week before the US Thanksgiving.  The whole family is getting together, and my portion of the food to bring is going to be two cheesecakes and two pumpkin pies.  And I always make everything by scratch (including the pie crusts).  If I’m still in a sling, I won’t be able to roll the pie crust, mix the pumpkin or cream cheese filling, or anything.   Yeah, I know, if I’m using the sling at that time, I’ll do as the PT says and buy the cheesecakes and pumpkin pies.  But it just won’t be the same.

Then there were other tests for both my mother-in-law and me.  The test for me came back, and now there’s more questions than answers.  Side note:  Why do doctors offices tell you bad news on the phone, and say “don’t worry”?  Or tell you “you have x” but don’t tell you anything more, and leave you wondering what it all means until your next appointment?  My next appointment is in a week and a half.  I’ve done some googling on the issue, and don’t like what I’ve seen.  But since I don’t know which specific category this thing is in (because the nurse just said you have x), I can’t even figure out the intelligent questions to ask when I go see the doctor again.  I’m thinking of calling the doctor’s office back on Monday and asking which category of x I have, so I can then concentrate my research on that one thing.

And to top it all off, yesterday I had another migraine.  The good thing is that I was able to take one of the new medicines the doctor gave me, and can tell how it worked.  The bad news is, well, I had a migraine.  I hate migraines with a passion.  They usually make me lose an entire day, between the migraine itself and the after migraine headache and recovery time.  Yesterday, due to the medicine I took, I at least didn’t have the after migraine headache, so when the migraine was gone (four hours, which also is shortest time a migraine has lasted), I was able to get up and do stuff.  That’s improvement.

Today I will post the Friday Series post that should have gone up yesterday.  

And hopefully, my world will get back into order and I’ll be back on track.

2 Responses

  1. Hoping your world rights itself as well. Hugs, hun.

  2. […] This week has been hellacious for me. Too many appointments, not enough time to breath, it felt like. The Physical Therapist (whom I adore, by the way, he took such good care of me after my knee surgery) has refused to let me out of the …[Continue Reading] […]

Leave a Reply

