Saturday Fluff – Favorite Food

What’s your favorite food?  This question gets asked all the time in internet memes.  It’s the one question that’s sure to drive me crazy!

With all the different kinds of foods out there, how can I pick just one favorite?  I like sushi and sashimi, and steak and potatoes.  I like a turkey dinner with all the fixings, venison and buffalo.  I love strawberries in season (especially when I was lucky enough to live in North Carolina, only 20 miles from a strawberry farm).   Recently, I got a bunch of fresh picked carrots from a relative who grew them in her garden.  They were the most carroty flavored carrots I’ve ever eaten!

But there is such a wide variety of food out there, how can I narrow it all down to just one?  I’m pretty sure I’m not alone in not having just one favorite food. 

So, what’s your favorite food(s)?  Do you like something more during a specific season or time of the year than any other time? 

Or, do you have something you like that other people look at you and think you are just weird for liking?  My one really weird food item would be peanut butter and yellow mustard sandwiches.  No.  Really.  The tangy-ness of the mustard just does something really really good to the peanut butter.  But everybody who’s ever met me thinks I’m extremely weird for eating this.  My ex-husband even thought I was pregnant the first time I ate that in front of him.  It was such an alien concept to him (to have a tangy taste with the peanut butter) that he just couldn’t comprehend that I could be wanting this without my hormones going crazy.

Or am I the only one with really weird tastes?

17 Responses

  1. I like re-fried curry on toast for breakfast, does that count?

  2. Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

  3. My fav foods are definitely seasonal–in the summer it is fresh veggies from the garden—squash, tomatoes, greens—fal and winter I go for the comfort of thick rich soups and stews like chowders(without the potatoes—still stick with my high fat low carb) I make a mean bacon cheddar chowder that is stick to your ribs

    weird foods—hey it’s food what can be weird about fresh whole foods—-I’m not a big breakfast food fan so I end up eating dinners leftovers for breakfast—weird would probably be collard greens for breakfast which I do frequently

  4. Mom-made ham and cheese sandwiches. ❤ Comfort food at it’s best and man could I go for one right now.

  5. Lobster!!!

  6. well. . .

    my favorite MEAL would be (and has been for years) broiled salmon (with possibly a bit of broiled steak on the side) with fresh steamed broccoli and cheese sauce and a baked potato w/sour cream.

    by that time i don’t really care about dessert. 🙂

    – peanut butter & banana sandwich
    – granny smith apple with crunchy peanut butter
    – 9-grain cereal with brown sugar , about a tablespoon of almond butter, and half-and-half
    – omelet with chard and cheddar cheese (ah loves me some chard)

    great thread!

    i’m kcd from northern california, new contributor. peace!

  7. Rachel: Well, to me that would be weird, but then, I have never eaten curry. (I never knew it could be refried!) Sounds like something to try sometime. 🙂

    Lillian: A classic!

    BamaGirl: That chowder sounds really good! Mind sharing the recipe?

    Jen: Mmmmmm ham… I don’t get it often, my husband dislikes ham and so I usually only make it when we have company coming over for a big holiday meal. Then I make ham and turkey and he doesn’t have to eat the ham. 🙂 But I was a doofu last night. I was at a party and snacks were served. One of the snacks was ham and I didn’t grab any! But then, I didn’t eat anything at the party because I just wasn’t hungry. Oh well, Thanksgiving is coming up soon.

    B13: With butter!!! YUM!

    kcd: Welcome to the blog! 9-grain cereal — I’m assuming that’s cooked? I generally go for cream of wheat with homemade peach butter and cream. Only one more week and I can open the new peach butter and peach marmalade! I can’t wait!

  8. Blue cheese. Mmmm.

  9. I totally agree with you and do not have just one favorite food. But I tell ya what, I freaking love soup, any and every time of the year. Even in the hottest part of summer, I can have a bowl of soup and some bread. 🙂

    Mmm. Bread. Bread and honey. Bread and milk. Bread with honey on it dipped in milk. Try that sometime, it’s simple but decadent. There’s a reason that kind of meal was used in the bible as a shorthand for prosperity and luxury. The best part is, nowadays, it’s one of the cheapest treats you can have!

    I love green bean casserole. You know, that stuff you make with green beans, canned mushroom soup, and fried onions, and the recipe is on the can. YUM.

    PASTA.

    I do love a nice steak or burger.

    Squash. Pumpkin. Sweet potatoes.

    Carrots. Celery. Spinach. OH MY GODS the tasty things that can be made from spinach! Spinach cooked and spinach raw. Spinach in a salad. Spinach on a pizza.

    Apples, Oranges, Grapes, Strawberries, Raspberries, PEACHES. Blueberries. FRUIT.

    COFFEE. Coffee is a food. Coffee is practically its own food group.

  10. Mmmm Indian food. Especially saag choley and veggie samosas!

  11. My favourites are lasagna, pizza, turkey dinner

    I eat Peanut Butter and Cheez Whiz sandwiches (it’s tangy too so you could try that if you are willing), and I’ve made several people try them and they all liked them too! haha

  12. My favorite food right now is a green smoothie. I wake up craving those things. I don’t make mine exactly like the video, but pretty close. I’m just not a mango fan, so I use frozen peaches. And my favorite greens are kale and collards, not spinach.

    My other favorite food are these maple walnut cupcakes I make from “Vegan cupcakes take over the world.”

  13. Homemade macaroni cheese with mushrooms, spinach and Danish or German salami mixed in. Vegan chocolate cake. Monster curry. Bacon from the joint and English mustard sandwiches.

    I do not understand people who eat peanut-butter-and sandwiches. Peanut butter sandwiches are okay, but nothing special, and mixing it with things is just nasty. On the other hand, crunchy peanut butter on hot toast is gorgeous.

  14. welshwmn3 – it scares me when people haven’t ever tried curry! I suppose it’s just like stew though, really, only spicier. So it’s like any of those slow-cooked things – easy to reheat.

    My mum’s spinach and potato curry rocks, but for breakfast you need a nice, medium-spicy vegetable curry with lots of onions 🙂

    I’m with you on the ham, though (I used to work as a server on a ham counter, so I got to eat free samples each morning!)

  15. i can’t believe you said peanut butter and mustard! I love it! Except for me it’s always been course, grainy mustard, and crunchy peanut butter.

    I recently returned to the US after living in Egypt for a year and a half. A lot of my mental time was spent on this very subject, since many of the foods we take for granted aren’t really available there. Peanut butter was one, I went months without it, and it was like finding the pot of gold at the end of a rainbow when we ran across a small jar.

    You’re right, though, variety is key. I think we don’t realize how lucky we are to have all these choices. So when I think of my favorites, the list is very long indeed.

    (Thanks for the great blog)

  16. favorite foods? cheesecake. 😀

    oh goodness. stew. cornbread (jiffy mix!). ginger beer.

    rare steak with a baked potato. “bait”. more cheesecake. *hugs*

  17. Miss Kitten: You know where I live (sort of, at least enough to get a plane ticket out here), I’ll make cheesecake when you get here! And rice pudding! 😀 (And REAL corn bread made from scratch, not that jiffy mix stuff! 😉 )

    Rachel: I’m not scary, honest! Blame my mostly midwestern with occasional forays into Polish/Slovakian upbringing. We lived in a very ethnic neighborhood when I was younger, lots of immigrants from Poland, Czechoslovakia (now called the Czech Republic), and other countries in that geographic region. Of course, the neighborhood had a lot of ethnic restaurants. I’ve had tons of Slovakian style ethnic foods (including tripe soup which I remember as being awesome), but not so much Eastern ethnic foods. I’m working on that.

    SugarLeigh: I hated coffee for the longest time. Until one day the hubby and I were at a Convention at a hotel with a really nice restaurant. He ordered french press coffee. It smelled SO GOOD, I had to try it. I’ve been hooked ever since. Last year, for my birthday, he even got me a french press coffee pot and now I can have it every day if I want. YUM.

    Rachel: I’m working on expanding my introduction to Indian food. So far, I’ve been to Indian restaurants twice, and loved what I ate both times. Unfortunately, I can’t remember what I had. :/

    buttercup: Blue cheese is wonderful, even if I get teased for eating “moldy” cheese. 🙂

    Froth: Oh, you reminded me of the German shop which makes their own bratwursts. It’s SO much better than anything I can get in the regular grocery store!

    RoseCampion: I’m not sure I could drink something that color. I’m sure it’s good… it’s just the color would really turn me off.

    gnomeprincess: Okay, now I’m going to have to try the peanut butter and cheese whiz sandwich. Thanks. I think! 😀

    Bebe: I’ve not been out of the USA much (Canada, Mexico, and Bahamas), and where I’ve gone has had either the same type of variety as “home” or different variety, but since I was only there for a week or two, it didn’t matter. I wasn’t there for long enough to miss something I couldn’t get. I bet we take a lot of foods for granted in the USA.

Leave a Reply

