Visit with the new Doctor

I’m very surprised, pleasantly surprised.   

This doctor has no issues with my weight.  We talked a bit about the issues I’ve had with doctors having issues with my weight, including the previous GP who kept trying to force anti-depressants on me because I am fat.   Her response to that was, “But one of the side effects of most anti-depressants is weight gain.  How’s that supposed to help you lose weight?”  Exactly.

In discussing the anti-depressant issue, she asked about the answers I had on the medical sheet about ‘mental illness’ (though they don’t put it that way, instead they ask about depression, anxiety, insomnia, etc).  I told her that I was in counseling with a clinical psychologist, and have been for the past two years.  That he and I have determined together that I do not need psychotropics, but we are keeping our minds open about it, and if it comes to me needing them, I would then come to her with his recommendations.  She said that was more than acceptable and that unless and until that day came, we’d talk no more about anti-depressants or any other psychotropic.

We talked about me having PCOS (PolyCystic Ovarian Syndrome) and she brought back up the subject of weight by saying, “One of the symptoms is obesity in people with PCOS.  Did your previous doctor not know that?”  She asked what meds I was on, and asked if they were helping with the symptoms of PCOS.

We talked about my blood work and not having had any done for about 2 years now.  Of course she wants me to get new blood work done.  Standard stuff, and I can understand that. 

All in all, it was a very positive visit.  She took her time with me (something one rarely sees anymore these days), she listened to what I was saying. 

I was really apprehensive going into this.  If the need wasn’t so great (need to be under a PCP care before I can get a neurologist for the migraines) I would have canceled out a few times already.  All my worry seems to have been for nothing though. 

I really should have had more faith in my former Physical Therapist, though.  I should have realized he wouldn’t send me to a person who was discriminatory or just diagnosed fat.  I’ll have to remember to send him a thank you note.

8 Responses

  1. I’m glad it worked out for you 🙂
    Thought I’d delurk and say hello… *waves* hello!
    x

  2. Oh my goodness, that is awesome! YAY for doctors that don’t suck! Isn’t it such a relief to have someone take you seriously and talk to you like you’re an adult? Good TIMES. 😀

  3. Hooray! Glad it went well 😀

  4. I am glad to hear this.. it is nice to hear positive experiences!

  5. I’m so glad that it turned out to be a pleasant experience for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

