Meme-age and diet

I was reading my daily round of blogs today, and a friend had one with meme-age from a new meme blog (http://wednesdayweird.blogspot.com/).  I looked at the questions, and found one from only two weeks ago that was all about diets.

It’s sad when dieting is so endemic to our culture, that a meme blog that’s in it’s infancy (it’s only 22 weeks old now) has a post devoted to it. 

I’m posting and answering the questions, because I think my answers may be a change from what they normally get.  Or, maybe not.  After all, there was that one article that said statistics are showing less people dieting now.

Wednesday Weirdness #20: Weight Watchers

1. Are you happy with how much you weigh? Why or Why not?
I am absolutely happy with how much I weigh.  My weight is not an indicator of anything being morally wrong with me (ie, I’m not lazy, stupid, have low self-esteem).  I am told often that I am beautiful by my husband and other people.  I have been working on getting a fabulous wardrobe that flatters me (rather than old baggy clothing).  For the first time in a very long time, I’ve got an hourglass figure, and I’m playing it up.   My health is not suffering for my weight, neither is my activity level.  Now that my knee is healed from surgery due to an injury 8 years ago, I’m even able to enjoy rock climbing and walking and mountain hiking again.

2. Have you ever been at a weight you are happy with?
Now. 🙂  And for the record, I weigh 220 lbs and stand 5’2″ tall. 

3. Are you currently on a diet now? If yes, describe.
By diet, you of course mean restricting calories, only eating “good foods” and never ever feeling full, right?  Ummm no.  I will never again diet.  Instead, I eat when I’m hungry, eat until I’m full, and eat what I want.  If I want a cookie right now, I’ll have it.  Or a scoop of ice cream.  This morning’s breakfast was 1/2 sandwich of vealwurst with mayonnaise on bakery rye, and a couple handfuls of snap peas and a cup of chai tea latte.  Weird breakfast, I know, but it was what I wanted.  And it was good.  And I don’t care if it was “good” for me or not.

4. What is the craziest thing you have ever done to lose weight?
I have:  Been put on a starvation diet by my parents from the time I was 8 til I was 14;  gone on a “vegetarian” diet that was only frozen mixed vegetables, one meal a day because I didn’t understand vegetarianism;  taken laxatives for months;  eaten only 500 calories a day for months;  exercised for 2 hours per day;  cut out all grains;  cut out all sugars;  gone on the Candida diet plan (which cuts out all wheat, corn, yeast, dairy and sugar);  eaten only one meal a day;  eaten 1/2 what was on my plate (and wasted the other half)…  Oh yeah, and went to Weight Watchers, did all the stupid diets like Atkins, Grapefruit, etc etc etc trying to lose weight.  None of them worked.  ALL of them had ravenous and left me with no energy.

5. What is your favorite thing about your body?
How it moves, how it does everything I ask it to, how flexible it is, how strong it is.

6. What is your least favorite thing about your body?
The fact that, as I get older, when I lose the stamina (like when I couldn’t do anything after the surgery), it seems to take a lot longer to regain it than when I was a child. 

Yeah, y’all didn’t think I was going to put something physical down, did you? 🙂

3 Responses

  1. I have to absolutely agree with that last answer. Getting older makes healing anything so much more of a challenge and I desperately hate how much down time even a simple run-of-the-mill case of seasonal crud takes!

  2. The only thing that I dislike about my body is that how long it seems to take me to heal bruises and other minor injuries. I’m accident prone and I always seem to have bruises somewhere on my body.

    I love that I have energy. I love that I can move. I love that I look good in clothes (my bf says out of the them, too). Now, if bruises could heal overnight instead of taking over a week.

  3. […] A Day In The Fat Life] Posted in fantasy of being thin, memey meme […]

Leave a Reply

