One Tin Soldier

Yesterday morning, I participated in my usual morning routine to help me wake up — I read through my facebook feed while I waited for the caffeine to kick in.  As I read, I came across an image a friend shared:

Now, I don’t want anybody to think I’m comparing homosexuality to being fat.  That’s not the focus of this post.

The focus of this post is that hate is a choice.

For the sake of this discussion, I’m going to put aside the issue of fat being a choice.  I’m not saying being fat is a choice, mind you, but I’m putting aside that point for this discussion.

However, even if being fat was a choice, hating is also a choice.

You have a choice to engage in hate.  You have a choice to engage in snarking on people when they are eating in a restaurant (whatever restaurant it may be, from the lowliest McDonald’s to the most posh gourmet restaurant).  You have a choice to throw things at people who are exercising.  You have a choice to hurl epitaphs at people.  You have a choice to level death threats at people.

Notice I wrote “people” there, and not “fat people”.  That’s because “fat” is just a descriptor, and the real issue is that we are people.  So, people who do all of the above, and more, are not doing it to “fat people”, they are doing it to people.

People like your mother.  Your brother.  Your best friend.  You know.  People.

If you wouldn’t engage in that type hatred with your mother, your brother, or your best friend, why do you engage in that kind of hatred with people you don’t know?

In 1971, an anti-war song One Tin Soldier (The Legend of Billy Jack) by the Original Caste was a one hit wonder.  The refrain says:

Go ahead and hate your neighbor,
Go ahead and cheat a friend.
Do it in the name of Heaven,
You can justify it in the end.
There won’t be any trumpets blowing
Come the judgement day,
On the bloody morning after….
One tin soldier rides away.

Is hate really all you have?  All of you who think threatening and ridiculing fat people is the best thing in the world, what are you getting from the hate?  Is the sense of artificial superiority really worth the repulsive way you are acting?  Because let’s get this one thing straight:  You hating another does not make you superior to them.  In my thought process, it just makes me think you must lead a very sad and small life that you feel you have to show how much better you are by denigrating and hurting another, based on something as superficial as the way a person looks.

It certainly doesn’t make me think you are superior to me when you do that to me.  It does, however, make me pity you, once the danger of the situation is over.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

