Disappointed

I have a facebook account, like many people do these days.  Most of the people I follow are personal friends, people who play the same games I play, and a hand full of celebrities (mostly authors).

One celebrity I follow is George Takei, Sulu from the original Star Trek series and films.  He’s funny.  He’s usually inclusive.  He’s usually against bullying.  He’s usually against discrimination.

So you can imagine my disappointment today when I saw a picture he’d posted that involved fat bullying and ridicule.  The picture was a mock facebook status, where Santa’s Reindeer were talking about how hard it was to pull a “700 pound” person, and making fun of how fat Santa is.  The responses (the ones I saw anyway, I didn’t look at all 165 of them) were the typical “he’s so fat” variety.

Seriously?  Seriously, Mr. Takei?  You who are usually so against bullying didn’t recognize this for what it is?  You who are an activist for the GLBT community can allow a picture like this to be on your wall, even for a minute?  You can allow fat hate and fat bashing to be on your wall?  Even for a minute?

I am disappointed.

So far as I’ve seen, I’m the only person who has called him out on the picture spreading fat hate and fat discrimination.  While I don’t usually call to action, I think Mr. Takei needs to learn that what he posted is actually counter to what his life seems to be about; activism to breaking down bullying and discrimination, where ever they raise their ugly heads.  If you have a minute, and have a facebook account, and feel you can help to constructively educate Mr. Takei, please do so.

Under the cut is the picture he posted.  

9 Responses

  1. Has he responded to any of the criticism he got for posting it?

    • Not that I’ve seen. :\

      • Takei has commented on this and some similar posts of his that he is not meaning to offend people or bully people; he says that if we can’t have a laugh at ourselves then we’re far too serious.

        • That is seriously a cop out.

          “I can post whatever I like, even if it encourages discrimination and bullying, by stating that we just have to laugh at ourselves.”

          No. Absolutely not. Let me post some gay bashing “humor” and see what he has to say. (No, I won’t do that, but that is my first thought from that response. “Oh, I didn’t mean anybody to bash gays or engage in racism! It was just humor! If we can’t laugh at ourselves, then we are far too serious!”)

          *sighs*

        • Where exactly did you comment on this?

          And when he says that “if we can’t laugh at ourselves then we’re far too serious,” you miss the point that HE ISN’T FAT. He isn’t laugh at himself, he’s laughing at fat people. There’s a BIG difference.

          Peace,
          Shannon

  2. It’s strange that a lot of people who are against other sorts of bullying are perfectly okay with fat hate. It is also very sad.

  3. that’s the second fat-hating thing he’s posted in the last couple of days. the other was a photo of the two enterprise captains and the voyager captain, only patrick stewart is visibly buff, and the other two are a little pudgy, caption reads “guess only one enterprise came with a gym” or similar. very disappointing!

    • I hadn’t seen that one, or I’d have called him on that one as well. I’m very disappointed in him, and hope he decides to stop the hate!

  4. Oh Pu-leeze! Making jokes about fat people and painting them all with the same broad brush isn’t bigotry! It’s good, clean, fun!

    I mean, sure, if you were to substitute the word “hippo” with “F****t” or “N****r”, then you’d have a problem. But, come on, it’s just the fatties.

    Where’s the eye roll smiley when you need it?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

