Alton Brown, you should be ashamed.

But not for what you think you should be ashamed for.

 ”I’ve struggled with weight all my life, and probably always will. But I was on my most recent book tour I was shocked by the number of overweight families,” he says. “People would come up to me and say, ‘Oh, we love the Food Network.’ Well, no (expletive); did you eat the TV? There’s only four of you and you can’t ride in an elevator together. I’ll probably make fat people angry, but we need, as a culture, to be ashamed. It’s not “… healthy.”  http://www.ecorazzi.com/2008/09/10/food-star-alton-brown-talks-sustainability/

You’ll probably make fat people angry?  To quote you verbatim:  Well, no shit!

You make your money by selling FOOD to people, fat and skinny alike.  You don’t care who pays for your books or watches your TV programs because it adds to your fortune, a fortune people like me, FAT people like me, are contributing to.  And then you have the audacity to say in an interview, “Did you eat the TV?”

You HYPOCRITE!  You have the unmitigated gall to verbally humiliate fat people, the people who pay your salary, both directly and indirectly?

You don’t like yourself when you are fat?  Fine.  Do something about it.  But to make your money on people like me and then to publically ridicule us?

Yeah, your bosses will be getting a letter from me.  And hopefully, from a LOT of fat people.  This isn’t the first time you’ve talked smack about fat people.  At least the other time you seemed to be polite about it (from what I heard, not having seen the interview itself, I can’t attest to that from first hand knowledge).  But now? 

You are on my shit list.  And no, the expletive isn’t deleted.

4 Responses

  1. I agree with you that it is very offensive, but, in reality, if he’s all nice and everything people might just not even realize what he was saying. Let’s compare this to Simon Cowell. Simon is painfully truthful, as this comment made by Alton Brown was. On American Idol, usually the comments Simon makes really lets people know if they are good singers or not, and most of the time they listen. Alton wants these “obese” people to know that they really do need to start eating healthier. Being overweight is just not healthy. Although I do think that his rude remark was uncalled for and shoul have been kept to himself.

  2. This is not truthful. Saying, “Did you eat the TV” is just downright hurtful, and continues a belief in stereotypes that are not true.

    The fact that Alton Brown is a marketer of the concept of food, that he’s making very good money off of the people he obviously dispises, makes it so much worse in my opinion.

    First of all, “obese” people do not all stuff their faces and eat donuts and McDonald’s all day every day. With as much marketing as is directed at us to tell us how bad we are for being fat, do you really think there is a fat person in the world who doesn’t know what society thinks is “healthy” eating?

    And being overweight is no less healthy than being skinny. There’s a notebook I have that illistrates the point: on the cover it has one of those “happy bunnies” (the type you see in places like Hot Topic) in a sweat soaked wifebeater, with a sweatband on it’s head, and a puddle of sweat under it. The caption reads: Exersize hard. Eat right. Die anyways.

    The truth is, we are all going to die. The so-called “fat” diseases don’t affect only fat people. Diabetes, cancer, hypertension, heart attacks, strokes, high cholesterol, and more affect SKINNY/NORMAL weight people and fat people alike. Skinny/normal weight people die as often (and maybe more often if you believe some of the new studies coming out) from heart attacks and strokes as fat people do. So there goes the theory that being fat = being unhealthy.

    For more information, I would direct you to the links on the sidebar, especially Junkfood Science. This is a blog run by a nurse, debunking most of the studies that come out by showing how they pull bait and switch tactics. She talks about how the so-called science that they (the studies) are feeding you are rigged, and she does it in a very scientific way.

    And I would also direct you to Shapely Prose, especially this article: http://kateharding.net/but-dont-you-realize-fat-is-unhealthy/ She says much better than I about how fat=/=unhealthy.

  3. [...] handful of posts.  So imagine my surprise when I signed in yesterday and found a bunch of hits for this post I wrote last year, after I’d first started writing.  Of course, with the views, came the [...]

  4. I will admit I am not a zealous fan of AB but I do watch a food network show now and then and found his most entertaining. After his “diet” show recently aired I was almost laughing at the disparity of his new diet compared to the years of meals he had in his show and books. If this works for him and it keeps him healthy that is great and he can do more shows on how to make healthier food taste better through tweaking.
    I went to look up information on him and found this quote all over the internet and was shocked. He feels this way about these fat people but yet he smiled, took their money and signed his book. I am sure if he was man enough to say this out loud to the family of which he speaks one of the parents would have readjusted his attitude but quick for saying such things about their children. It is not like fat people are not aware of the prejudice they have to face daily in the world but to get it from some sob that puts out this come on in and lets cook coconut cake and corn dogs kind of guy is pathetic.
    I am not one he would shoot his bigot laser at but a sibling of mine is and I watch her struggle with it. She went from a fit snowboarding, hand gliding, scuba diving enthusiast to someone crippled and swollen with arthritis within a year. The meds she has to takes to reduce the swelling do leave her bloated and with a crazy appetite and even with good choices the weight comes. It is amazing to hear her describe what reactions she gets from people based on her size and that caused her medical issues when it is the opposite.
    I am disgusted enough by Brown’s comment that when he comes up here for next meet or book signing I will be sure to attend and hand out flyers with this interview on it. Of course I will hand it out to everyone, not just the tv eaters.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

